Begin typing your search...

IPL 2024: KKR smash records against DC, register a 106-run win

Sunil Narine, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Andre Russell and Rinku Singh sizzle with the bat while Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakravarthy and Mitchell Starc let the ball speak

IPL 2024: KKR smash records against DC, register a 106-run win

IPL 2024: KKR smash records against DC, register a 106-run win, PC:

Just when every Indian cricket fan was yet to come out of the high-scoring thriller between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders dished out another epic against Delhi Capitals in their Indian Premier League (IPL) match at Visakhapatnam on April 3.

Batting first, KKR threatened to snatch SRH’s record of scoring the most runs (277 in 20 overs) but in the end fell short of SRH’s record to finish on a mammoth 272/7 in their 20 overs.

The foundation was laid by Sunil Narine, who scored 85 off just 39 balls, with contributions from Angkrish Raghuvanshi (54 off 27), Andre Russell (41 off 19), and Rinku Singh (26 off 8), powering KKR to a humongous total against a hapless DC bowling attack.

The bowlers then joined the party, with Mitchell Starc and Vaibhav Arora reducing DC to 33/4 in the fifth over, putting the contest virtually to bed. Rishabh Pant (55 off 25 balls) and Tristan Stubbs (54 off 32) offered some resistance but when both fell to spinner Varun Chakravarthy, it was KKR all the way as they triumphed by 106 runs.

The record keepers were kept busy, and let’s take a look at some of the numbers.

272: The second-highest total in the IPL. The highest is SRH’s 277 that they scored against MI. It eclipsed KKR’s previous highest of 245/6 against Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) in 2018.

135: KKR’s total at the halfway stage of their innings. It is the third-highest first-ten-over score in the IPL, behind the 148 by SRH and the 141 by MI, both scored in the same match last week.

88: KKR’s score in the powerplay is their second-highest in the IPL, behind the 105 against Royal Challengers Bengaluru in 2017.

18: Angkrish Raghuvanshi’s age as he becomes the youngest player to score a half-century on debut in the IPL.

18: The number of sixes scored by the KKR batters, which is the highest in an IPL innings, eclipsing their previous highest of 17 against Chennai Super Kings in 2018 and against Kings XI Punjab in 2019.

8: The number of years after which Mitchell Starc has taken a wicket in the IPL.

3: The number of times Sunil Narine has scored a half-century in the powerplay. Only David Warner (6) has more fifties inside the powerplay in the IPL.

Hari Kishore M
Next Story
Share it